Shipping Container Ports handle a variety of traffic – the majority being containerized shipments. The main ports of New Zealand are in Auckland, Tauranga, Wellington, Napier, Otago and Lyttelton. The first four cellular container ports (Auckland, Wellington, Lyttelton and Port Chalmers) increased in area size in the 1970’s to accommodate more container ships and keep up with world demand by filling in old wharves and dry docks, demolishing wharf sheds and putting in gantry cranes. Although on a smaller scale, the same happened at the secondary ports – with Tauranga later building a five-crane container terminal. Since then the ports of New Zealand have been growing at a constant rate.

Combined, the ports of New Zealand have been increasing in traffic over recent years – showing an improvement from 1.41 million containers in 2010 to a massive 1.83 million containers in 2016. (All statistics from the New Zealand Ministry of Transport website)

Click through the following links to find more specific information on each Port of New Zealand: